A little rant on blizzard entertainment

Image

 

Yeah if you play pc games you probably know who these guys are.  the creators of some epic games through the years.  Starcraft, Starcraft 2, Diablo, Diablo 2, Diablo 3, warcraft, warcraft 2, warcraft 3, world of warcraft, the lost vikings, and blackthorn are the only ones i know of, there may be more.

the games are great, but the customer service and reliability not so much so. World of warcraft was i started to see this because of people hacking accounts.   they would sell your shit, send the gold to thier account, delete your characters, sometimes even just steal your account to either play cuz they didnt want to pay for it or so they could sell gold on some shady website and make money off of your account. I was hacked twice.

The first time was because i was not at the time using what everyone now knows as an authenticator.  for the few of you that dont know what it is, it’s a small device that goes on a keychain (or if you have a smart phone there is a free mobile authenticator app) that pings the battle.net server every like 10 seconds generating a new code that you need to have, and have typed in correctly before it expires, to login to any of the games on battle.net or battle.net itself.

After i recovered my account from that hack i got an authenticator added to my account (i used the mobile app for android) and made my account safe.  well i decided to stop playing for awhile and took the authenticator off my account in case i wanted to play again in the future, knowing that there was a good chance i would have uninstalled the app from my phone and would have been royally fucked. During that time i was hacked, and only found out because a friend of mine told me he saw my characters in game even though he knew i was no longer playing.

so i called up blizzard, after HOURS of waiting on the phone i gave them my account name, password, cd key for the game, etc etc etc and recovered my account once again, and ended up adding game time and playing for a bit.

Well, at that point i went ahead and bought the actual authenticator keychain figuring the hell with it, i would just never remove it from the account and would make sure i did not lose it and i wouldnt have to worry about it again.  It seems i was wrong. Diablo 3 came out and i came in my pants as i installed it to my laptop.  played the fuck out of it for a few months then lost the time to play between work, things i had to do at home, helping friends out with thier problems, and spending time with my girlfriend.

I havent played in about 2ish months i think, and decided to get on today while over at a friends house with my laptop and me and him get in game together and play for awhile before i had to pick up my gf from work.

turns out my fucking authenticator is no longer working, and the codes it is giving me are not authenticating with battle.net and letting me login.

so now im going through what will undoubtedly be an extremely tedious process of getting an unworking authenticator removed from my account so i can add another mobile authenticator and be able to play my fucking game again.

 

blizzard entertainment, you need to step up the quality of your security measures.  gamers like me that end up going through shit like this end up not wanting to ever use your products again. there is NO FUCKING POSSIBLE WAY i am the only one that has had to deal with this, and if it keeps up i feel certain you will start to see a serious decline in your population.  I for one only want to play diablo but if something like this ever happens again after i get it fixed this time i know you certainly will not be seeing anymore of my money, and im willing to bet there are many others out there that think the same way after going through this kind of shit.

One thought on “A little rant on blizzard entertainment

  1. With other MMORPGS out (rift, swtor) and world of gayfucking pandas. blizzard has already seen a decrease in the population of WoW. since Diablo 3 has come out, people have been playing that instead of wow itself. Now i have been playing wow, rift (once in a blue moon) and swtor, but will be finally quitting wow once the gayfucking pandas come out. no blizz.. just.. no. but yeah i went through the same thing you did with the authenticator shpeel. had it on my phone, deleted the authenticator. took me 3 hours to finally get through to someone. but yes. the customer service is lacking, but think of what they have to go through, some of the users out there are far more irate as well as rude, uneducated, etc. so some might be a little wirey lmao.

Leave a comment